Mark Sanchez

12 07 2009

Mark Sanchez Poses for GQ

Here’s a great tip for anyone out there starting a new job, save the half naked photo shoots for when you have already gained SOME respect!  I recently started a new job myself and though it is hard to fight the urge, I’ve yet to come in wearing a bathing suit posing seductively with my laptop.  For some crazy reason, I thought this might make people think that I wasn’t focused enough on the job they hired me for.

Mark Sanchez is shown above in an offseason photo shot for GQ magazine with his model girlfriend.  He’s the likely new starting quarterback of the NY Jets selected as the #5 draft pick from USC.  No rookie quarterback has EVER started and won a Super Bowl (though Ben Roethlisberger of the Pittsburgh Steelers did it in his second season). Rookie quarterbacks are rarely successful right out of the gates and often the ones with the most hype prove to be the most disappointing.  “Hey Mark, put your shirt back on because extra hype is a bad omen!”  My tip for Mark is just one of many that he will hear in the upcoming season.  Nobody can point out what you are doing wrong like New York fans.

In the spirit of handing out a little tip for Mark Sanchez, I thought I’d pass on some guidance on tipping in general.  Tipping is a major American custom that can at times border on extortion.  Still, I’m a generous person and I don’t mind gifting the staff that make my experiences more enjoyable.  This list below are just MY thoughts.  Like most areas of gifting, tipping is an art and not a science.  I think my guidelines should point you in the right direction, but use your own judgment if you think I missed the mark on something.  You’re the quarterback; I’m just here to protect you.

 Dining

  • Bartenders: $1-$2 per drink.
  • Waiters/Waitresses: I give 15-20% of my total bill.  There is some debate on whether you should do it pretax, but I don’t like being bothered with that.  I just quickly add 20% of the total for good service.  It doesn’t get any easier than that.
  • Coat Check: $1-$2 per coat.
  • Take Out: No tipping required, but I give 10% for extra service.
  • Tip Jar: You usually find this in places like a coffee shop or bakery.  You are not required to leave a tip, but may want to consider it occasionally if you are a regular customer.

 Traveling

  • Concierge: No tip needed for questions or directions, but $5-$10 for reservations and $10-$20 for tickets. 
  • Room Service: Usually included in the service charge (check first), but 15% if not.
  • Doorman: $1-$2 for hailing a cab (more if I have a lot of bags).
  • Bellman: $1 per bag.
  • Housekeeping: $2-$3 per day (it is better to tip daily or the last person could get the tip for everyone else).
  • Valet: $2-$5 (depends on where I am and how I’m feeling).
  • Taxi: $2-$3 for short rides and 10% on long rides.

 

NOTE: Holiday tipping was omitted on purpose. I will cover it later in the year.

Actions

Information

One response

13 07 2009
Justin W

My first thought is that part of Mark’s new job is to increase the hype for the lowly New York Jets, who were not a playoff team last year and whose cross-city rivals won the Super Bowl in 2008. In order to drum up the fan interest required to pay the skyrocketing prices of the luxury seats in the Jets’ new stadium (see Yankees problems with ticket sales), Mark must do more than study the playbook. By doing photo-shoots like this, he is perhaps generating intersest of a new generation (read: younger generation) of Jets fans, who will hopefully increase ticket demand.

Consider David Beckham when he came to the US a few years ago (to play for the Los Angeles team in the MLS). The team was certainly more interested in capitalizing on his sex appeal rather than his playing ability to generate ticket sales and increase the popularity of the sport in the area. If you think about it, does anyone even know whether his team won anything or whether he has even played well in those seasons? Probably not, but I am sure that people were snapping their cameras and buying tickets.

Whether Mark is a success on the field or not will undoubtebly come down to winning and losing. Rest assured, though, he is already a celebrity in the world’s most happening city. This is something the Jets haven’t had since Broadway Joe Namath, whose legend far exceeds the reality of his playing career.

Leave a Reply

