QB Recap: Week One

15 09 2009

“They are who we thought they were!” I sometimes have to remind myself that people usually turn out to be EXACTLY who we thought they were.  Kanye West proved that in his not-so-shocking stunt at the VMAs this weekend, where he simply reminded us that he is the same unstable egomaniac he always was.  Really, why is everyone so surprised?!

I can’t tell you how many fantasy football articles pointed out how unlikely it is that Drew Brees (NOR) or Adrian Peterson (MIN) would put up the kind of big numbers they had in previous years.  I’m not sure what their scoring rules are, but in my league six touchdowns for a QB is a good thing.  Actually, hold on let me check my scoring rules – ok turns out 180 yards and three touchdowns is pretty dang good for a running back too!

Week One was filled with many things I could have seen coming, but these are a few more of my favorites.

-Carson Palmer (CIN): He definitely is who I thought he was!  Watching him play was like running into your ex that dumped you, just to find that he put on 60 pounds and is now living out of his car.  Boy, did I dodge a bullet by swearing off this guy!

-Donovan McNabb (PHI): This guy gets hurt more that my five-year-old riding without his training wheels.  I knew Vick had hit a gold mine in Philly.  I could not imagine that McNabb would stay healthy two seasons in a row.  Did that fool actually break a rib in Week One?  Yes, he did.  We’ll see how long he is “down and out” in coming games.

-Jay Cutler (CHI): I tried to warn all the Washington fans not to lust after Cutler.  He was no better than Campbell in my opinion and would sorely disappoint.  All I can say is – when you’re right; you’re right.  Who gets a new franchise QB just to watch them throw four interceptions in the first game?  Only in Chicago, baby

-Tom Brady (NWE): I think I saw Tom Brady throw a game winning (perfect) TD pass on Monday Night Football.  If I didn’t know better, I would think he was almost as good as – Tom Brady.  He may not be back to his original form, but he is definitely still “who I thought he was.”

 

What did you see this week?  The floor is open…leave it in the comments.

 

WEEK ONE QB TIP: Want to tell someone who loves you that you “are who they thought you were?”  If you don’t have the nerve to say it yourself – look for the long rectangular cards in Hallmark.  They have lots of words on them and are guaranteed to make most women cry.  All you have to do is sign your name!  You’re the quarterback; I’m just here to protect you.

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 09 2009
Terrance W

How important is week one? The Bills beat the Patriots 31-0 in Week 1 of 2003. I think a 14-2 record and a Super Bowl showed how much weight you can place on the first game. You should revisit this post at week 6.

15 09 2009
CMB

McNabb will be back I picked him up!

I think that due to all the Ints this week. Defenses have gotten much better this year and QBs have not upped their game. Example: The Raiders

CMB

20 10 2009
Terrance

It’s week 6! I’m back. Carson Palmer is working out just fine for me. Romo & Edwards? C’mon SON!

I understand how you feel about Palmer. When I’m in Vegas, I will not bet on Duke or Tennessee basketball regardless of what the spreads or odds are. They both have cost me money in some form or another, repeatedly. I just stay away from them. While I’m on the topic, March 17, 2010 is right around the corner.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

